Media Alert

Limited Edition CD and Digital Download Available October 2nd


Los Angeles, CA - September 25, 2012 - Bulgarian-born composer Penka Kouneva ( Prince of Persia: The Forgotten Sands, Midnight Movie) releases an original instrumental album entitled " A Warrior's Odyssey ", on October 2nd. Kouneva's musical "odyssey" is inspired by the traditions of Hollywood film music and contemporary video games but with a conceptual narrative rather than visuals. Featuring 18 thematic original compositions recorded with A-list Hollywood musicians, " A Warrior's Odyssey" will be available as a Limited Edition CD through Howlin' Wolf Records and for digital download on Amazon MP3, iTunes and other digital music sites. Preview samples from the album are available here.

" A Warrior's Odyssey" reflects Penka Kouneva's journey as a rising composer in Hollywood. In 1990 Penka ventured out of post-communist Bulgaria with $150 in her pocket and a Duke University Graduate fellowship. At Duke she studied with noted concert composers Stephen Jaffe and Scott Lindroth, and in 1997 Penka made history at the university by receiving the first-ever Doctorate in Composition. In 1999 she came to Hollywood with one keyboard and Mac Performa. A decade later, she has built a distinguished career, working in a creative and leadership capacity on blockbuster films and games.


" A Warrior's Odyssey draws upon the formative influences of my style: contemporary Hollywood film, and video game scores," says Penka. "I am building stylistically upon the amazing opportunities Steve Jablonsky gave me with the games Prince of Persia: The Forgotten Sands, Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen and Gears of War 3."

The structure of the album follows the form of classical symphonies, where the turbulent and energetic first movement is followed by a contemplative slow movement providing a period of respite and reflection. 

Track Listing:

1. Waiting for Dawn to Break 

The Battle Begins 

2. Storming the City Heights 

3. Mission Fail 1 

4. A Soldier's Odyssey 

Part 1: At a Soldier's Grave / Part 2: Engaging the Enemy 

5. A Soldier's Odyssey 

Epilogue: Flowers at a Monument 

6. Sniper Attack 

7. Confrontation from a Lo-Fi Dimension 

Faraway Lands, Ancient Times 

8. Forgotten Steeples 

9. Chase Through Crete 

10. Between Eden and Distant Fields 

11. Minotaur Battle 

The Battle Must Go On 

12. Fading Fortitude / The Battle Must Go On 

13. Farewell to the Pilot 

14. Pilot Bombardier and Dogfights 

15. The Wanderer 

16. Broken Watch 

17. Mission Fail 2 and Requiem 

18. Airplane Bound for the Skies.  

An award-winning composer for film, television and video games, Penka Kouneva has scored 12 independent features ( Midnight Movie), 4 television films ( Ice Spiders) and several episodic TV shows ( Forensic Files, Modern Marvels). In the world of video games she has composed music for Prince of Persia: The Forgotten Sands (alongside Steve Jablonsky) and orchestrated on Gears of War 2 & 3, The Sims 3, Transformers, World of Warcraft, StarCraft II, Diablo III, Dragon Age II, The Lord of the Rings: War In The North. Penka is also widely recognized for her talent as Lead Orchestrator on films such as Transformers, Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen, Transformers: Dark of the Moon, Pirates of the Caribbean: At World's End, Tim Burton's  9Sherlock HolmesAngels and Demons, and the hit TV shows True Blood (HBO) and Revenge (ABC).


Penka Kouneva resides in Los Angeles and is represented by The Gorfaine/Schwartz Agency. 

For more information visit: www.penkakouneva.com.


Games PressGames Press is the leading online resource for games journalists. Used daily by magazines, newspapers, TV, radio, online media and retailers worldwide, it offers a vast, constantly updated archive of press releases and assets, and is the simplest and most cost-effective way for PR professionals to reach the widest possible audience. Registration for the site and the Games Press email digest is available, to the trade only, at www.gamespress.com.