NEW TITLE BLASTS ITS WAY INTO EUROPE

August 19th 2008– Prepare for space battles galore because Rising Star Games is pleased to announce it has signed the rights to bring retro-style shooter XG Blast! to Europe. Scheduled for release in November 2008, XG Blast! (short for eXtreme Gravity and refers to the main in-game weapon) will be available exclusively on the Nintendo DS™ and in all PAL territories.

Undergoing a secret experimental journey, the spaceship Aknathen detects an energy spectrum identical to the one emitted by its prototype weapon, the XG Blast. Travelling to investigate, Aknathen is sucked through a wormhole and into a dimension filled with aggressive alien life-forms determined to take the weapon for themselves. Fight your way through hordes of enemies to uncover the origin of the mysterious signal and find your way back home.

XG Blast! is an arcade shooter delivered in a bright and colourful retro style. Players control a spaceship with the sole purpose of destroying the invading hordes before they do the same to you. A vast array of powerful weaponry and the special gravity blast creates a screen full of vibrant action with intensely addictive gameplay. Your ship is controlled using the D-pad and either the action buttons or the Touch Screen, allowing simple yet varied styles of play.

For further information, screenshots and press samples(when available), please contact:

 

Yen Hau or Tyrone Walcott (Rising Star Games) yen.hau@risingstargames.com
tyrone.walcott@risingstargames.com

France - Atari France

Julie Carneiro

Julie.carneiro@atari.com

Germany - Eidos Germany GmbH

Sven Liebold

Sven.liebold@eidos.de

Spain - Virgin Play

Diana Radetski

dradetski@virginplay.es

Italy - Atari Italy

Paola Menzhagi

Paola.menzhagi@atari.com

Sweden&Denmark - Bergsala

Patrik Johansson

Patrik.johansson@bergsala.se

Norway - Bergsala

Kirsti Danielsen

Kirsti.danielsen@bergsala.no

- END -

About Rising Star Games

Rising Star Games Limited is a video games publisher for Sony PSP™, Nintendo DS and Wii™ plus PlayStation®2 in the PAL territory. A joint venture between Japanese publisher/developer Marvelous Interactive and long standing Nintendo Nordic distributor Bergsala AB, Rising Star Games’ publishing ethos is that it’s a Japanese games publisher with a European heart. The company has published enhanced and updated versions of some of interactive entertainment’s most successful franchises. www.risingstargames.com

 


Games PressGames Press is the leading online resource for games journalists. Used daily by magazines, newspapers, TV, radio, online media and retailers worldwide, it offers a vast, constantly updated archive of press releases and assets, and is the simplest and most cost-effective way for PR professionals to reach the widest possible audience. Registration for the site and the Games Press email digest is available, to the trade only, at www.gamespress.com.