Guitar Hero III to rock this Autumn

US publisher Activision has confirmed that the third instalment in its hit Guitar Hero franchise will arrive this Autumn for PS2, Xbox 360 and, for the first time, PS3 and Wii.

New features this time out include boss battles and authentic rock venues, as well as a host of unlockable content and new multiplayer modes.

Wireless guitar peripherals have also been confirmed for all platforms, along with the addition of interchangeable faceplates. And whilst the established Les Paul model returns for the 360, PS3 and Wii, PS2 owners will be treated to a brand new Kramer model.

Downloadable content is also being touted by the publisher, with Activision stating that “strategic partnerships have been secured with all the major and independent music record labels to allow unrivalled access to their deep history of music catalogues”.

A number of tracks have also been announced, including:

•    Paint It Black (The Rolling Stones)
•    Cherub Rock (Smashing Pumpkins)
•    Sabotage (Beastie Boys)
•    The Metal (Tenacious D)
•    My Name is Jonas (Weezer)
•    Knights of Cydonia (Muse)

“The development team at Neversoft has been exceptional,” RedOctane’s head of publishing Dusty Welch stated. “We’ve been able to incorporate a host of fresh new online and multi-player gameplay modes, along with exciting content into this version of Guitar Hero that our fans have been asking for.

“Also, many of the top bands and songs we’ve tried to get in the past are now on board, and we’ve definitely got some giant aces in the hole to say the least. In addition, offering a new line of Gibson wireless guitars for each platform is going to truly add to the authentic rock star experience like no other.”


Tags: Activision , guitar hero , ps3 , xbox 360 , wii , downloadable content , ps2

Follow us on

  • RSS