Computer and Video Games Industry All Party Group Reformed

TIGA, the trade association representing the UK games industry, is delighted to announce that the All-Party Parliamentary Group for the Computer and Video Games Industry has been reformed with a new executive committee. The Group’s membership comes from across the political spectrum with Conservative, Labour, Liberal Democrat, Scottish National Party (SNP) and Plaid Cymru parliamentarians.

The Group will provide a parliamentary forum to discuss the issues affecting the sector; including Games Tax Relief, skills and training, and the relationship between industry and universities. The Group will be co-chaired by the Culture, Media, Olympics and Sport Select Committee Chair, John Whittingdale OBE MP and the former Labour Minister, Tom Watson MP.

Richard Wilson, Chief Executive of TIGA, said:

“I am delighted that the All-Party Group has been reformed with a talented and diverse range of parliamentarians. I welcome the election of the new co-Chairs, John Whittingdale OBE MP and Tom Watson MP, who bring with them a wealth of knowledge and experience that will be of great benefit to the Group.

“The Group has examined key industry issues since it was formed in 2009 including the importance of introducing Games Tax Relief. This tax change remains the number one priority for the sector and is vital in ensuring that the UK can compete with other countries who currently offer tax breaks, such as Canada.”


Note to Editors:

The Group’s stated aim is:

‘The Group will provide a forum to discuss business issues affecting video games' software developers; to develop policies to enhance the sector; and to champion an industry that responsibly creates content for an audience ranging from children to adults.’

The Group members are:

Government– John Whittingdale OBE MP (Co-Chair) (Conservative), Phillip Davies MP (Vice-Chair) (Conservative), Lord Inglewood (Conservative), Mark Field MP (Conservative), Nigel Evans MP (Conservative), Chris White MP (Conservative), Dan Rogerson MP (Liberal Democrat), Lord Dykes (Liberal Democrat), John Hemming MP (Liberal Democrat), Julian Huppert MP (Liberal Democrat).

Opposition– Tom Watson MP (Co-Chair) (Labour), Stewart Hosie MP (Vice-Chair) (SNP), Rt Hon Stephen Timms MP (Labour), Jim McGovern MP (Treasurer) (Labour), Luciana Berger MP (Vice-Chair) (Labour), Lord Puttnam (Labour), Tom Blenkinsop MP (Labour), Alan Keen MP (Labour), Ann McKechin MP (Labour), Rob Flello MP (Labour), and Jonathan Edwards MP (Plaid Cymru).

About TIGA:

TIGA is the trade association representing the UK’s games industry. The majority of our members are either independent games developers or in-house publisher owned developers. We also have games publishers, outsourcing companies, technology businesses and universities amongst our membership. TIGA was awarded‘Trade Association of the Year’ and the‘Member Recruitment Award’ at the Trade Association Forum Best Practice Awards 2010.

TIGA's vision is to make the UK the best place in the world to do games business. We focus on three sets of activities: political representation, generating media coverage and developing services that enhance the competitiveness of our members. This means that TIGA members are effectively represented in the corridors of power, their voice is heard in the media and they receive benefits that make a material difference to their businesses, including a reduction in costs and improved commercial opportunities.

For further information, please contact Eva Field, TIGA PR Manager on: 07814 039 983, or email

Games PressGames Press is the leading online resource for games journalists. Used daily by magazines, newspapers, TV, radio, online media and retailers worldwide, it offers a vast, constantly updated archive of press releases and assets, and is the simplest and most cost-effective way for PR professionals to reach the widest possible audience. Registration for the site and the Games Press email digest is available, to the trade only, at