Green Bay Packers and Baltimore Ravens Poised for Conference Dominance According to EA SPORTS Madden NFL 11 Regular Season Simul

September 2, 2010— After getting a taste of the NFL Playoffs during the 2009 season, the Baltimore Ravens and Green Bay Packers are expected to build on last year’s performance by securing their conference’s best record in 2010 according to the official Madden NFL 11 regular season simulation. With less than a week before the season kicks off, EA SPORTS predicted divisional winners, league leaders and individual award winners for the 2010 NFL season.

Behind the arm of QB Aaron Rodgers (named MVP and Offensive Player of the Year), the road to Super Bowl XLV in the NFC will go through Lambeau Field as the Packers finished with a 12-4 record, while Baltimore relied on the exceptional play of OLB Terrell Suggs (named Defensive Player of the Year) to secure home-field advantage in the AFC. The Baltimore Ravens and Indianapolis Colts both posted NFL-best records of 13-3, with the Ravens securing home-field advantage due to a better divisional record.

New England, Indianapolis and San Diego won their divisions in 2010, while the upstart New York Jets secured a Wild Card berth in the AFC. After years of being tapped as the next up and coming team, the Houston Texans made the playoffs as a Wild Card team with a 9-7 record, grabbing the sixth seed in the AFC.

The Minnesota Vikings tied for the best record in the NFC with Green Bay at 12-4, but due to the Packers’ better divisional record, settled for the fifth seed in the playoffs as a Wild Card team. After seven years without a playoff appearance, the San Francisco 49ers joined the Dallas Cowboys and New Orleans Saints as division winners in the NFC, while the Atlanta Falcons secured the final Wild Card spot in the conference.

TE Jermaine Gresham of the Cincinnati Bengals and CB Joe Haden of the Cleveland Browns were named Offensive and Defensive Rookies of the Year, respectively. Entering his third season as the head coach of the Baltimore Ravens, John Harbaugh was named the Coach of the Year.

For screenshots and video featuring Madden NFL 11 regular season simulation results, please visit

NFL 2010 Season Awards

as simulated by Madden NFL 11

    <*>NFL MVP– Aaron Rodgers, Green Bay Packers <*>Offensive Player of the Year– Aaron Rodgers, Green Bay Packers <*>Defensive Player of the Year– Terrell Suggs, Baltimore Ravens <*>Offensive Rookie of the Year– Jermaine Gresham, Cincinnati Bengals <*>Defensive Rookie of the Year– Joe Haden, Cleveland Browns <*>Coach of the Year– John Harbaugh, Baltimore Ravens

Top Ten Offensive Performers


Player Team Yards TDs INTs

Aaron Rodgers GB 4639 36 9

Matt Schaub HOU 4592 35 16

Peyton Manning IND 4542 33 8

Tom Brady NE 4471 32 14

Drew Brees NO 4459 33 12

Tony Romo DAL 4357 29 10

Donovan McNabb WAS 4309 28 13

Philip Rivers SD 4303 29 12

Eli Manning NYG 4248 25 14

Joe Flacco BAL 4112 25 12

Running Back

Player Team Yards TD

Chris Johnson TEN 1784 15

Steven Jackson STL 1631 8

Adrian Peterson MIN 1608 16

Maurice Jones-Drew JAX 1459 13

Rashard Mendenhall PIT 1403 9

Frank Gore SF 1380 10

Ray Rice BAL 1311 9

LeSean McCoy PHI 1288 7

Jerome Harrison CLE 1235 8

Jonathan Stewart CAR 1192 12

Wide Receiver

Player Team Rec Yards TD

Andre Johnson HOU 104 1541 12

Greg Jennings GB 102 1438 13

Marques Colston NO 107 1372 11

Randy Moss NE 91 1324 15

Miles Austin DAL 88 1323 10

Brandon Marshall MIA 105 1290 11

Roddy White ATL 86 1257 8

Steve Smith CAR 98 1213 7

Anquan Boldin BAL 96 1179 8

Santana Moss WAS 85 1174 9

Tight End

Player Team Rec Yards TD

Antonio Gates SD 102 1179 11

Owen Daniels HOU 93 1093 8

Vernon Davis SF 83 1032 6

Dallas Clark IND 90 992 8

Jason Witten DAL 97 933 4

Jermaine Gresham CIN 72 930 7

Jermichael Finley GB 79 916 9

Tony Gonzalez ATL 81 882 7

Brent Celek PHI 79 881 6

Zach Miller OAK 75 841 3

Top Defensive Performers


Player Team Sacks

Alex Brown NO 14.5

Justin Tuck NYG 14.5

Terrell Suggs BAL 14

Jared Allen MIN 14

Julius Peppers CHI 13

Juqua Parker PHI 12.5

Antwan Odom CIN 12

Aaron Kampman JAX 11.5

Greg Ellis NYJ 11.5

4 Total 11


Player Team INT

Darrelle Revis NYJ 7

Jerraud Powers IND 7

Bryant McFadden PIT 7

Asante Samuel PHI 7

Dashon Goldson SF 6

Brandon Flowers KC 6

Leon Hall CIN 6

Louis Delmas DET 6

Adrian Wilson ARI 6

Donte Whitner BUF 6

For more information about Madden NFL 11, please visit

Madden NFL 11 is now available on the Xbox 360 ® video game system from Microsoft, PlayStation 2 and PlayStation 3, Wii TM , and PSP ® (PlayStation ® Portable) handheld entertainment system. Mobile releases of Madden NFL 11 are now available for iPad TM , iPod ® touch and feature phones. A version for Android TM phones will be available later in the year. Madden NFL Superstars, an all-new NFL social game experience, is available on Facebook.


Julie Foster

Sr. Publicist


Matt Faust

Fleishman Hillard on behalf of EA SPORTS


Games PressGames Press is the leading online resource for games journalists. Used daily by magazines, newspapers, TV, radio, online media and retailers worldwide, it offers a vast, constantly updated archive of press releases and assets, and is the simplest and most cost-effective way for PR professionals to reach the widest possible audience. Registration for the site and the Games Press email digest is available, to the trade only, at