Only One Week Left to Vote on Honorary Award Recipients

Vancouver, BC - March 23, 2009 - The 3rd Annual ELAN Awards wants to remind you that the on-line voting for their three Honorary Awards on closes at the end of this week, Friday, March 27th and your vote is needed to determine the winners.

The ELAN Awards were both honored and delighted when, the Web's leading source for videogame news and information, became their Official Media Partner and offered to Host their on-line voting. The ELANS, hosted this year by Tom Kenny, the famous voice of "SpongeBob SquarePants©", on Saturday, April 25, 2009 will present one honorary award to each of the three digital industry sectors they honour.

The ELANS are asking that industry professionals go to the link to cast their vote for the recipients of the "Video Game Hall of Fame", "Lifetime Achievement in Animation" and the "Visionary Award" (VFX). Voters will have ten nominees - all names gathered from the industry - in each of the three sectors to select from, and they are:


Nolan Bushnell - Founder of Atari Corporation

Satoru Iwata - President, Nintendo

Bobby Kotick - CEO, Activision

Ken Kutaragi - Father of the Playstation

Ken Levine - 2K Boston, Bioshock

Shigeru Miyamoto - The creator of Mario Bros.

Mike Morhaime - Co-Founder of Blizzard

Gabe Newell - Valve

Roberta Williams - Sierra On-Line

Will Wright - The creator of The Sims&Spore


Phillip Bradley Bird -Director of Ratatouille/The Incredibles

Hayao Miyazaki - Princess Mononoke

John Lasseter - Directed Toy Story,A Bug's Life,Toy Story 2

Michael Craig Judge - Creator and star of Beavis and Butt-head and King of the Hill

Nick Park - Producer/Director of Creature Comforts, The Curse of The WereRabbit


Charles Martin "Chuck" Jones (1912 - 2002) - Looney Tunes and Merrie Melodies

Dr. Osamu Tezuka (1928 - 1989) - Creator of Astro Boy and Kimba the White Lion

Frederick Avery (1908 - 1980) - Creator of Daffy Duck, Bugs Bunny and more

Norman McLaren, C.C., C.Q. (1914 - 1987) - Neighbours

Isadore "Friz" Freleng (1906<1> - 1995) - Developed Porky Pig, Yosemite Sam and more


Harrison Ellenshaw - Matte visual effects for Star Wars and The Empire Strikes Back

Phil Tippett - Co-developed Go-Motion for Dragonslayer, creatures for Return of the Jedi

Ken Ralston - Cast Away, What Lies Beneath, Contact, The Polar Express, Beowulf

John Knoll - VFX Super Star Trek Generations, Star Trek: First Contact, Pirates Caribbean

Joe Letteri - Sr VFX Super The Water Horse: Legend of the Deep, X-Men - The Last Stand

Paul Debevec - Pioneer in high dynamic range imaging image-based modeling&rendering

Jim Rygiel - VFX Super The Lord of the Rings trilog, Stay Tuned, I Robot, Iron Man

John Gaeta - Matrix trilogy, Speed Racer,advanced methods "Bullet Time" and more

Peter Robert Jackson - Heavenly Creatures, The Lord of the Rings trilogy

David Leo Fincher - Seven, Fight Club, Zodiac and The Curious Case of Benjamin Button

Voting online for the Winners of these Honorary Awards is open to the media and the Industry ONLY. Voting closes on Friday, March 27th at 12 noon PDT in order to give the Winners enough notice to attend the awards ceremony in Vancouver on April 25th.

The Winners are decided by YOU so please go right now to Select Honorary Award Winner and cast your vote.

Getting behind in support of the ELAN Awards are their Event Partners, Activision Publishing, Inc. and the Seven Group as well as the ELAN'S Founding Partners Radical Entertainment, Relic Entertainment, Offload Studios (Official Supplier of the ELAN Award Statuette), IGN (Official Media Partner), Shangri-la Vancouver (Official Hotelier) as well as the ELAN'S Associate Partners Blue Arc, Hitachi, sgi, SPINVFX, David Kaye Productions and the esteemed firm Buckley Dodds&Associates which will once again preside over the judicial process. And, of course, Moore's Formal Wear for Men who will be making certain that all of our men look fabulous in their tuxedos!

"As the Movie Industry goes to Hollywood for its Oscars, so will the world of Video Games, Animation and Visual Effects come to Vancouver for their ELANS."


The ELAN Awards

Holly Carinci





Games PressGames Press is the leading online resource for games journalists. Used daily by magazines, newspapers, TV, radio, online media and retailers worldwide, it offers a vast, constantly updated archive of press releases and assets, and is the simplest and most cost-effective way for PR professionals to reach the widest possible audience. Registration for the site and the Games Press email digest is available, to the trade only, at