Michael Jackson: The Experience (360/PS3)

James Batchelor

Michael Jackson: The Experience (360/PS3)

THE KING of Pop made his Wii and DS debut last November in Michael Jackson: The Experience which sold over 2m copies worldwide.

Now Ubisoft is bringing the Smooth Criminal to PlayStation Move and Xbox 360 Kinect.

But more than just a straight conversion, Michael Jackson: The Experience on Move and Kinect boasts additional in-game features and tracks. Two songs are exclusive to the new platforms – ‘Blood on the Dance Floor’ and ‘I Just Can’t Stop Loving You’ – which form a massive track list including some of Jackson’s biggest hits (see ‘Music and Me’).

Previous tracks have been upgraded – such as ‘Black or White’ – which now allows gamers to sing and dance while performing. All the user needs to do is plug in a USB microphone accessory.

Ubisoft’s past titles include the much-loved Just Dance 1 and 2, as well as spin-offs Dance on Broadway and Dance Juniors. The titles have sold over 10m units cumulatively.

Michael Jackson: The Experience takes the gameplay foundations of Just Dance and throws the star appeal of MJ into the mix. Players must dance in time to on-screen prompts to achieve the highest score.


Unique to the PS3 version is an automatic Facebook feed. This allows gamers to post their progress and pictures directly onto the social network to share with friends.

Michael Jackson School Mode also uses the PlayStation Eye and Kinect camera to allow players to see themselves moving on screen – a feature that wasn’t present in the Wii and DS versions.

On top of this, the game’s full range of co-op and battle modes add a competitive multiplayer element to the title, while a variety of difficulty levels and a practice mode lets gamers improve their dancing.

Following the success of the Wii and DS versions, along with a host of new additions and Michael Jackson’s immense stature, The Experience looks set to replicate its success on Kinect and Move when it hits shelves this month.

Smooth Kinectimal

The Kinect version of Michael Jackson: The Experience tracks the player’s whole body for a more immersive experience. The controller-free gameplay also means players won’t have to worry about getting their Wii or Move devices caught up as they perform their best moonwalk.

Music and Me

The Experience features a range of hit Jacko tunes from his career including the following:

- ’Bad’
- ’Thriller’
- ’Beat It’
- ’Billie Jean’
- ’Smooth Criminal’
- ’Black or White’
- ’The Way You Make Me Feel’
- ’Heal the World’
- ’Wanna Be Startin’ Somethin’
- ’Earth Song’
- ’Blood on the Dance Floor’ (360/Move exclusive)
- ’I Just Can’t Stop Loving You’ (360/Move exclusive)


Tags: This article has no tags