Games Media Awards ’08 – vote now

This year’s Games Media Awards will feature 10 categories, covering print, digital, mainstream and specialist media.

The number of titles up for grabs has been reduced dramatically from last year, in a move that ratchets up the cachet attached to each award and ensures fierce competition in every area.

The nominations process begins now, and MCV’s readers are invited to suggest their favourites in all or any of the categories. And, yes, you can nominate yourself or your own magazine or website for an award.

A nomination can just be a name, or maybe a sentence or two. But there’s certainly no need for lengthy exposition or campaigning at this point. All you have to do it fire off your favourites to

A new award this year is the Rising Star award. This will go to the brightest young talent in games media, someone who has yet to claim a really senior position, but has made their mark in the last 12 months and is deemed destined for great things.

Appropriately, this new category is sponsored by a publisher that has made an impact of its own over the past 12 months, Rising Star.

There’s also the chance to suggest the next Games Media Legend. The inaugural award was won to universal acclaim by Gary Penn.

The Games Media Awards take place at the Jongleurs Comedy Club in Camden on the evening of Thursday 16th October.


– Games Magazine

– Games Website

– Specialist Games Writer (Print)

– Specialist Games Writer (Online)

– Mainstream Magazine Games Writer

– National Newspaper Games Writer

– Regional Games Columnist

– Rising Star – Sponsored by Rising Star Games

– Games Broadcast (TV/radio/online)

– Games Media Legend

Send in your nominations to

About MCV Staff

Check Also

Indie Showcase finalists announced for Develop:Brighton

"The final ten really impressed us with their inventiveness, top rate game-feel and stunning audio-visual design."