GMA 2012: Sega backs Games Writer of the Year

Sega is sponsoring the Games Writer of the Year category of this year’s Games Media Awards.

The Games Writer of the Year Award has been introduced for 2012 to reward excellence in games journalism.

All games journalists – specialist, non-specialist, print and online – can enter this category. Journalists simply need to submit a piece of writing published since October 26th last year. The nominations will be judged – totally anonymously – by award-winning journalist and Guardian columnist Tim Lott. Submissions must be made by Monday July 23rd.

Lott offered: It is encouraging to see excellence in writing supported in any field and Intent Media should be applauded in their efforts to raise the standards of journalism in gaming."

And – with the backing of Sega – the winner of this award will not only receive the prestige of being named Games Writer of the Year, but will also receive a free creative writing course with Tim Lott.

I’ve just got off the phone to an editor I’ve been working with for several years," added Stefan McGarry, senior international PR manager at Sega Europe.

"Even on deadline he sounds as fresh and passionate about the work he does, month after month, year after year. This gives dinosaurs like me a lot of comfort. It’s not just the old guard, either, there’s a lot of talented new scribes coming through the ranks that are just as exciting to work with which gives me a lot of hope for the future of journalism in this wonderful industry we call home.

"It’s a pleasure to be sponsoring this award and I’ll happily raise a glass to whoever wins it.”

MCV managing editor Lisa Carter added: The Games Writer of the Year award will be an incredibly prestigious accolade for the winner. We are looking to highlight excellence in games journalism and this award will be judged purely on prose. Our judge, Tim Lott, has won the Whitbread Novel Award and has a weekly column in the Guardian. Importantly, he also has no association with video games, which means he will be judging our finalists purely on their writing skills.

"And, thanks to the support of Sega, the winner will also receive a free creative writing course with Tim Lott. Pretty much every journalist has aspirations to be a novelist – and our Games Writer of the Year award will get the opportunity to learn from an award-winning author."

The Games Media Awards will this year take place on Thursday October 18th and return to the super chic Vinopolis, Bankside. Gold Partners supporting the event include Xbox 360, Need For Speed Most Wanted, PlayStation, Nintendo, Codemasters Racing, Metal Gear Rising Revengeance and OnLive.

Deep Silver has signed up as Media Transport Partner and Gamescom is Event Partner. Green Man Gaming is sponsoring the Top Tweeter category, with Precise sponsoring Coverage by a Mainstream Website. Meanwhile, Sega is backing the Games Writer of the Year award.

Russell Kane, winner of the Edinburgh Comedy Awards, will be the host for the evening.

Up to 350 guests will attend this year’s Games Media Awards, including nearly 200 media. A limited number of trade tickets will be available at 150 per person. Contact to find out more.

A limited number of further partnership opportunities are available. To find out more contact

You can follow the gma twitter feed at @GamesMediaAward.

About MCV Staff

Check Also

Critical Path: January 2023 – Highlights for the month!

Here are the key upcoming events and releases to mark in your calendar for December 2023