Here’s the shortlist for the MCV Women in Games Awards 2019

Today we’re excited to announce the MCV Women in Games Awards shortlist for 2019. The awards, returning for the fifth year in a row, were inundated with hundreds and hundreds of fantastic entries.

We’re really pleased to be able to once again celebrate the huge contribution of women to the UK games industry. The awards remains free-of charge to attend for everyone on the shortlist and their chosen guests. Thanks to our generous partners and sponsors – without who it simply would not happen.

This year’s event is once again in partnership with Facebook, who will be hosting the ceremony for us. Our headline sponsor this year is Rare, with Amiqus, DK, Gamescom, Hangar 13 and OPMJobs all supporting the event. We’re also working with Ukie and Women in Games on this year’s event.

Congratulations to all of our nominees, the winners will be decided by our industry panel of judges, please help us promote the awards by sharing your nomination via social media. We look forward to seeing you all at Facebook’s offices on the afternoon of Friday the 28th June – more details to follow shortly.

Here is this year’s shortlist:

Rising Star of the Year – Development

Lara Coulson, Ubisoft Reflections

Daisy Fernandez, State of Play

Sarah Longthorne, Sumo Digital

Josie Messa, Multiplay/Unity Technologies

Jasmine Moore, Sumo Nottingham

Anastasia Wyatt, Inkle

Rising Star of the Year – Business

Gemma Cooper, Bandai Namco UK

Sola Kasali, Electronic Arts (EA)

Amy Mallet, IGN (Ziff Davis)

Laura Martin, Ukie/Digital Schoolhouse

Cinzia Musio, Splash Damage

Natalie Wicks, Double Eleven

Creative Impact of the Year

Miriam Bellard, Rockstar North

Hollie Emery, Bonsai Games

Lauren Frazer, Ubisoft Reflections

Luciana Nascimento, Bunnyhug

Mohrag Taylor, Creative Assembly

Olivia Wood, Failbetter Games

Technical Impact of the Year

Duygu Cakmak, Creative Assembly

Alexia Christofi, Sony London Studio

Maitland Hemby, Boss Alien (Natural Motion)

Kexin Li, Bossa Studios

Catalina Luca, Unity

Lesleyann White, Failbetter Games

Comms Impact of the Year

Hannah Flynn, Failbetter Games

Abbie Heppe, Media Molecule

Marina Koh, Capcom

Louise Marchant, Ubisoft

Claire Sharkey, Weather Factory

Roz Tuplin, Games London

Journalist of the Year

Laura Kate Dale, Kotaku UK

Vic Hood, TechRadar

Emma Kent, Eurogamer

Elle Osili-Wood, Playstation Access

Danielle Partis,

Jordan Erica Webber, The Guardian

Campaigner of the Year

Lucy Boxall, Creative Assembly

Marijam Didžgalvytė, Clapton Community Esports Club, Game Workers Unite International & Freelancer

Jay-Ann Lopez, Black Girl Gamers

Felicia Prehn, Nopia Oy Ltd

Liz Prince, G Into Gaming/Amiqus

Chella Ramanan, Freelance writer and games journalist

Mentor of the Year

Sally Blake, Hammerhead VR

Kristrun Fridriksdottir, Sports Interactive

Roberta Lucca, Bossa Studios

Robin Milton, Access Creative College

Tina Lauro Pollock, Brain & Nerd

Caoimhe Roddy, Girls Make Games/Freelance

Businesswoman of the Year

Lottie Bevan, Weather Factory

Catherine Bygrave, Activision Blizzard

Sara Grover, WB Games UK

Ann Hurley, Testronic

Kat Osman, Lick PR

Kirsty Rigden, FuturLab

Outstanding Contribution

This award will be decided by the editorial team and the recipient announced on the day of the event

About MCV Staff

Check Also

Levelling Up – PC Gamer’s Mollie Taylor

Mollie Taylor, features producer at PC Gamer, explains exactly what a features producer does, and how every day on the job is different