The winners of Aardvark Swift’s Search for a Star, Sumo Digital Rising Star and Grads in Games awards revealed

Last month saw Aardvark Swift hand out awards to deserving folk in the academic sector at an event in Sheffield.

This saw awards given out to some intimidatingly talented people through their Grads in Games, Search for a Star & Sumo Digital Rising Star 2018 awards. The event itself was satisfying and positive too

Here are the winners, starting with the Search for a Star 2018 competition:

Games VFX: Jacob Beckley, University of Huddersfield

Games Animation: Adelaide Coldham, Hertfordshire University

Environment Art: Joseph Bamber, Futureworks Media School

Character Art: Shannon Symonds, Southampton Solent University

Games Programming: Robert Arnold, Newcastle University

Now onto the Sumo Digital Rising Star 2018 winners.

Games Animation: Saif Munawar, Bradford University

Environment Art: Jimmy Ghysens, Howest DAE

Character Art: Kial Oliver-Gibson, University of Huddersfield

Games Programming: John Green, University of Central Lancashire

And last, but by no means least, the winners of the Grads in Games awards:.

Academic Award: Dr Daryl Marples, University of Huddersfield

Educational Institution Award: Howest DAE

Graduate Employer Award: nDreams

Student Game Award: Kabounce, Stitch Heads

Student Award: Kial Oliver Gibson, University of Huddersfield

Graduate Impact Award: Nicolas Pirot,Technical Artist, Rocksteady

You can read more on the winners by this link for Search for a Star and Sumo Digital Rising Star or this one for Grads in Games and it’s worth checking out to see some of the phenomenal students who won awards. There’s a good chance some of them will end up in future issues of MCV on our Rising Star pages, so really looking at these winners work is a bit like finding spoilers. That’s exciting, isn’t it? 

About MCV Staff

Check Also

IRL – tickets now on sale, nominations open – join us at the comeback industry event on September 16th

IRL will be a casual, inclusive event, designed so that anyone and everyone in the industry can attend, meet colleagues, network, and applaud our collective efforts