Games Media Awards step up for 2012

The ultra popular Games Media Awards will return this autumn – with a new category, judged by an award-winning journalist, recognising pure writing skills.

The Games Media Awards will take place this year on Thursday, October 18th and returns to the super chic Vinopolis, Bankside.

Gold Partners supporting the event include Xbox, EA, PlayStation, Nintendo, OnLive, and Codemasters Racing.

Russell Kane, winner of the Edinburgh Comedy Awards, will be the host for the evening.

As ever, the winners will be voted for by members of the media and industry PRs.

But a special prize – the Games Writer of the Year Award – has been introduced for 2012 to reward overall excellence in games journalism.

All consumer press games journalists – specialist, non-specialist, print and online – are invited to enter this category. Journalists simply need to submit a piece of writing published since October 26th last year. The nominations will be judged – totally anonymously – by award-winning journalist and Guardian columnist Tim Lott.

The Games Writer of the Year award will be an incredibly prestigious accolade for the winner,” explained MCV managing editor Lisa Carter. It will be judged purely on prose and highlight excellence in games journalism.

Our judge, Tim Lott, has won the Whitbread Novel Award and has a weekly column in The Guardian. Importantly, he also has no association with video games, which means he will be judging our finalists purely on their writing skills.”

Other categories have been tweaked to better recognise individual writers.

Notably, there is an award for best use of social media.

You can begin lobbying now for yourself, a colleague, a favourite media brand or individual, or even a competitor. Simply email The lobbying period closes on July 20th.

Up to 350 guests will attend this year’s event, including nearly 200 media.

A limited number of trade tickets will be available at 150 per person. Contact to find out more.

A limited number of further partnership opportunities are available. To find out more contact


Games Magazine
Games Website
Specialist Writer – Print
Specialist Writer – Online
National Newspaper – Writer
Mainstream Magazine – Writer
Games Video
Games Radio and Podcast
Games Blog
Rising Star
Coverage by a Mainstream Website
Top Tweeter
Games Media Legend
Games Writer of the Year


Where: Vinopolis, Bankside, London
When: Thursday October 18th
Lobbying Opens: Now! Email your suggestions to

Follow the GMAs on Twitter: @GamesMediaAward
and visit our Facebook page


About MCV Staff

Check Also

Time is running out for nominations for MCV Women in Games 2023!

Nominations for the MCV Women in Games 2023 awards show will end later this week