GMA 2009 finalists named

The finalists have been announced for this year’s Games Media Awards.

For more information on sponsorship opportunities or trade tickets please contact

Here are the finalists in full:

Best Games Magazine

Games TM – Imagine Publishing
Edge Magazine – Future Publishing
PC Gamer – Future Publishing
Retro Gamer – Imagine Publishing
Official Xbox 360 Magzine – Future Publishing

Best Games Website – Eurogamer Network – videogaming247 – CBS Interactive – Pro-G Media – Imagine Publishing – IncGamers

Specialist Writer (Print)

Jon Blyth – Freelance (PC Zone)
Tom Francis – PC Gamer
Matt Handrahan – Games TM
Matthew Castle – NGamer
Darran Jones – Retro Gamer
Gillen McAllister – Official Xbox 360 Magazine

Specialist Writer (Web)

Dan Howdle –
Wesley Yin Poole –
Pat Garratt –
Ellie Gibson –
Chris Schilling – Gamerzines
Simon Parkin – Freelance (Eurogamer)

Games Coverage in a Mainstream Magazine

Zoo Weekly – Bauer Consumer Media
Nuts – IPC Media
Shortlist – Shortlist Media
FHM – Bauer Consumer Media
Front – Flip Media

Games Blog
Guardian Games Blog

Coverage in a National Paper

The Guardian
The Daily Telegraph
Daily Star Sunday
The Independent
The Sun
The Daily Mirror

Games Broadcast/Podcast

One Life Left – –
Game On – BBC Radio 5 Live
Start/Select –
Games Weasel –
Johnny Minkley – BBC Radio 1

Rising Star

Neon Kelly –
Samuel Roberts – 360 Magazine
Matthew Pellett – Xbox World 360
Chris McMahon – Games TM
Graham Smith – PC Gamer
Mike Channell – Official Xbox 360 Magazine

Regional Games Columnist

Ross Wilkinson – Press Association
Dave Cook – The Scotsman
Steven Fox – Metro
Dan Slingsby – Games Addict
Ian Crump – Southern Daily Echo

Games Media Legend

The winner of this award will be named on the night

505 and Warner Bros. are the latest to sign up as sponsors. The two publishers join Gold Sponsors New Super Mario Bros. Wii, Xbox 360, EA, F1 2009 from Codemasters, DJ Hero and Sega, plus National Newspaper sponsor Saw and main bar sponsor Wet.

Hundreds of you participated in an open nominations process, resulting in a field of runners and riders that should lead to plenty of discussion, celebration, sniping and, ultimately, 11 worthy winners., Future Publishing, Imagine Publishing Videogaming247 and Videogamer score the most nominations.

Next, a selected judging panel consisting of over 200 members of the games media and industry PRs will be asked to deliver their verdict ahead of the big night at Jongleurs in Camden on the evening of Thursday, October 15th.

There is no shortlist for the Games Media Legend award. Instead, soundings have been taken and the recipient will be announced on the night. They will join previous winners Gary Penn and Steve Jarratt in the GMA Hall of Fame.

For more information on sponsorship opportunities or trade tickets please contact

About MCV Staff

Check Also

Critical Path: January 2023 – Highlights for the month!

Here are the key upcoming events and releases to mark in your calendar for December 2023