2015 World Video Game Hall of Fame finalists named

The Strong National Museum of Play has named the 15 finalists for its inaugural World Video Game Hall of Fame.

The selection mixes classic pioneers such as Pong, Pac-Man and Space Invaders with more contemporary offerings such as Minecraft, Angry Birds and World of Warcraft.

The winner will be chosen by a committee of journalists and industry bigwigs and will be announced in June. The criteria include a title’s iconic status, its longevity, how well known it is and its overall impact on the overall entertainment industry.

In an open poll on the museum’s website The Sims is currently well in front followed by The Legend of Zelda and Super Mario Bros.

Here are the finalists in full:

  • Angry Birds
  • DOOM
  • FIFA
  • The Legend of Zelda
  • Minecraft
  • The Oregon Trail
  • Pac-Man
  • Pokmon
  • Pong
  • The Sims
  • Sonic the Hedgehog
  • Space Invaders
  • Super Mario Bros.
  • Tetris
  • World of Warcraft

About MCV Staff

Check Also

Develop:Brighton’s keynote speaker will be Team17’s Debbie Bestwick – “We came together as an industry and supported each other in a way I’ve never seen in over three decades”

Bestwick discusses how the pandemic impacted Team17, the importance of in-person events, her keynote and her outlook on the industry’s future