Games Media Awards return

After a successful couple of years at Camden’s Jongleurs, the games media’s big night out is moving upmarket – but will still stop short of being ‘formal’.

Now at The Bloomsbury Ballroom in London, the event will be able to accommodate a larger audience, meaning more journalists and industry guests.

The awards will recognise the best in specialist and mainstream games media in print and online.

This year’s GMAs is being supported by some of the market’s biggest companies: Microsoft, Nintendo, Activision, Codemasters, Electronic Arts and Ubisoft have all stepped forward as Gold Sponsors.

As ever, the nominations and winners will be voted for by members of the media and industry PRs. The categories are:

* Games Magazine
* Games Website
* Specialist Writer, Print
* Specialist Writer, Online
* Coverage by a National Newspaper brand
* Coverage by a Mainstream Magazine brand
* Regional Games Columnist
* Games Broadcast/Podcast
* Games Blog
* Rising Star

There’ll also be a new Games Media Legend, following in the footsteps of Gary Penn, Steve Jarratt and Pat Garratt (pictured).

The nominations begin now. Please send your suggestions to

About MCV Staff

Check Also


NPD charts for May – sales up and Resident Evil: Village takes top spot

NPD’s sales figures are in for the US in the month of May. And the …