The Games Media Awards are today – here’s everything you need to know

The time is finally upon us to recognise the best of the games media once again.

That’s right, the Games Media Awards are set to take place this very evening, October 15th, at the Bloomsbury Ballroom near Holborn.

Doors open 7pm, with drinks and a welcome dinner preceding the main event.

An after party will follow, allowing those in attendance to let loose until midnight, when the event closes.

Hosting the proceedings is stand-up comic and writer Holly Walsh, who will lead the celebrations of the best in writing about games and coverage of interactive entertainment – across the written word, audio, and video, from independent freelancers through to major media outlets.

There are over 60 different writers, media outlets (including podcast brands and video channels) vying for prizes.

This year the award categories have been overhauled, with the winners selected by panels of expert judges.

Categories this year include prizes split out by discipline (news, in-depth features and critiques) and platform (video, audio, written word), plus an important nod for newcomers in the Rising Star category.

But the judges aren’t the only people to have their say; consumers and the media will vote for two separate awards this year.

The former have cast their votes for this year’s Gamers’ Choice award, which asked members of the public to choose their favourite piece of games writing of the last 12 months from a shortlist. (See below for those selected.)

Meanwhile, those attending the event tonight will be able to choose from among their peers to recognise their ‘Journalists’ Journalist’ – check out those in the running here.

The GMAs are proudly sponsored by Sega (Rising Star award partner); Green Man Gaming / Playfire (Gamers’ Choice award partner); EA Sports’ FIFA 15 (After-Party sponsor); NCSOFT, Onlive, DC Thomson’s 110% Gaming and Gamescom (event partners).

That should be everything you need to know, but should you have any more questions about the night, please contact call him on 01992 535 647.

Take a look at the full list of 2014 GMA nominees below:


  • Dave Cook
  • Edwin Evans-Thirlwell
  • Matthew Reynolds
  • mcspotlights
  • Tom Phillips
  • Wesley Yin-Poole


  • Christian Donlan
  • Keith Stuart
  • Mark Brown
  • Martyn McLaughlin
  • Simon Parkin
  • Stuart Dredge


  • Andy Kelly
  • Chris Schilling
  • Harry Slater
  • Keza MacDonald
  • Matt Kamen
  • Matthew Castle
  • Nathan Brown

RISING STAR – sponsored by SEGA

  • Angus Morrison
  • Hamish Todd
  • Jim Trinca
  • Kirk McKeand
  • LukeKarmali
  • Ria Jenkins


  • Chet and Jon’s Reassuringly Finite Playlist
  • Daft Souls
  • Game On
  • GlitchFreeGaming
  • One Life Left
  • StickTwiddlers Podcast
  • The Explosive Alan Podcast
  • The Sausage Factory


  • App Spy
  • BitSocket
  • Expert Super Guide
  • Matt Lees
  • Other Places
  • Outside Xbox
  • VideoGamer TV
  • GTA V O’clock


  • Edge
  • gamesTM
  • Official PlayStation Magazine
  • OXM
  • PC Gamer
  • The Observer


  • CVG
  • Eurogamer
  • Kotaku UK
  • PC GamesN
  • RockPaperShotgun
  • Total Xbox

GAMERS’ CHOICE – powered by Playfire


  • Keith Stuart
  • Simon Parkin
  • Ellie Gibson
  • Guy Cocker
  • Matthew Castle
  • Julia Hardy

About MCV Staff

Check Also

Ubisoft employees condemn the industry’s “culture of abuse” in open letter, accuse Yves Guillemot of “sidelining” their demands

"Ubisoft continues to protect and promote known offenders and their allies"