Forum for games industry discussion in Westminster shuffles upper membership

All-party games group reformed

The All-Party Parliamentary Group for the Computer and Video Games Industry has been reformed with a new executive committee.

The group, comprised of members of every major political party in the UK, was formed last year with a remit to “provide a forum to discuss business issues affecting video games software developers, to develop policies to enhance the sector and to champion an industry that responsibly creates content for an audience ranging from children to adults.”

This latest reformation has set out to provide a parliamentary forum to discuss industry issues including Games Tax Relief, skills and training, and the relationship between industry and universities. The Group will be co-chaired by the Culture, Media, Olympics and Sport Select Committee Chair, John Whittingdale OBE MP and the former Labour Minister, Tom Watson MP.

“I am delighted that the All-Party Group has been reformed with a talented and diverse range of parliamentarians. I welcome the election of the new co-Chairs, John Whittingdale OBE MP and Tom Watson MP, who bring with them a wealth of knowledge and experience that will be of great benefit to the Group,” said TIGA CEO Dr. Richard Wilson.

“The Group has examined key industry issues since it was formed in 2009 including the importance of introducing Games Tax Relief. This tax change remains the number one priority for the sector and is vital in ensuring that the UK can compete with other countries who currently offer tax breaks, such as Canada.”

The Group members are:

Government – John Whittingdale OBE MP (Co-Chair) (Conservative), Phillip Davies MP (Vice-Chair) (Conservative), Lord Inglewood (Conservative), Mark Field MP (Conservative), Nigel Evans MP (Conservative), Chris White MP (Conservative), Dan Rogerson MP (Liberal Democrat), Lord Dykes (Liberal Democrat), John Hemming MP (Liberal Democrat), Julian Huppert MP (Liberal Democrat).

Opposition – Tom Watson MP (Co-Chair) (Labour), Stewart Hosie MP (Vice-Chair) (SNP), Rt Hon Stephen Timms MP (Labour), Jim McGovern MP (Treasurer) (Labour), Luciana Berger MP (Vice-Chair) (Labour), Lord Puttnam (Labour), Tom Blenkinsop MP (Labour), Alan Keen MP (Labour), Ann McKechin MP (Labour), Rob Flello MP (Labour), and Jonathan Edwards MP (Plaid Cymru).

About MCV Staff

Check Also

Google has announced that Stadia will shut down soon

Google is shutting down Stadia, according to an official blog post by Stadia VP and general manager Phil Harrison that went online yesterday