Trio of digital entries in Ubisoft’s flagship franchise all due this year

Climax Studios working on new Assassin’s Creed trilogy

Ubisoft has unveiled a new entry in the Assassin’s Creed franchise, but it’s not quite what you think – and it’s developed right here in the UK.

Assassin’s Creed Chronicles is a trilogy of download-only games heading to PS4, Xbox One and PC. The games introduce fans to new characters and regions that have yet to be visited in the historical action franchise, set in China, India and Russia.

Straying slightly from the series’ formula, the games will be 2.5D, taking players along set path through stylish renditions of their settings.

The biggest departure, however, is that these have been developed by UK firm Climax Studios. Collaborating with franchise lead Ubisoft Montreal, this is the first time a console version of the series has been developed by a non-Ubisoft studio. 

Mobile editions have been developed by GREE and PlayNext.

The trilogy kicks off on April 22nd with Assassin’s Creed Chronicles: China, with India and Russia both due by the end of the year.

Ubisoft Quebec is expected to take the lead on the next main Assassin’s Creed, following the leaked reveal of Assassin’s Creed: Victory, which will be set in Victorian London.

Check out the trailer below:

About MCV Staff

Check Also

Discovering The Sound of the Unknowable in Trek To Yomi

Composer and producer Cody Matthew Johnson chronicles the thought processes, ambition and effort that went into Trek to Yomi.