Just a few hours remain for crowdsourcing experiment

Double Fine Kickstarter hits $3m

Investment for Tim Shafer’s adventure game project has passed $3 million, according to figures on its official Kickstarter page.

The crowdfunding project passed the milestone on Monday with just a few hours before the experiment draws to a close.

The Kickstarter campaign, widely seen as the most successful ever, hit $1 million in a dramatic 24 hours. At one stage it was accumilating $839 per minute.

Double Fine passed the $2m milestone about ten days later, while the third million was made after another 22 days.

Some $400,000 was originally sought to bankroll Double Fine’s new adventure game, as well as a documentary that will explore the development process of the point-and-click title.

Double Fine will present a special livestream to mark the end of the Kickstarter campaign.

Visit the dedicated UStream channel at 3:00PM PST (6:00PM EST, 10:00PM GMT).

[Pictured: the Double Fine team, San Frnacisco]

Further reading:

Schafer details Kickstarter game

Double Fine breaks Kickstarter record

24 hours that rocked games development

About MCV Staff

Check Also

All the pics from our IRL event last week!

All the photos from the industry's comeback event