Only four teams remain as the annual game design contest enters its final phase

Gamebryo chosen for Dare to be Digital [Update]

Correction:Develop had reported that this year’s Dare to be Digital contest had four remaining finalists. It has since emerged that 14 teams remain. Updated article follows.

Four of the remaining 14 teams in the Dare to be Digital game design contest will be relying on Emergent’s Gamebryo LightSpeed engine to take the top prize.

Kicking off in April, over 70 contesting teams were chosen to prototype their game idea. The competition had attracted groups from around the world, including an undergraduate group from India’s Image College of Arts, Animation and Technology (ICAT).

The final teams have been tasked to build their game in under ten weeks, with the ultimate winner receiving a One to Watch Award during this year’s BAFTA ceremony.

Emergent says its middleware gives the aspiring game designers a clear advantage over many other game engines due to the fact that LightSpeed “provides a flexible engine that brings the ability for rapid prototyping, iteration and development.”

Finalists opting for LightSpeed are:

CottonBall Physics (University of Ulster Magee and Dun Laoghaire Institute of Art)
Inertia Interactive (Portsmouth University)
Thunderbirds (Algoma University and Abertay University)
Trouble Maker (Peking University)


About MCV Staff

Check Also

Crafting a virtual Deathtrap – making Deathtrap Dungeon with Madalorian virtual studio tech

The Mandalorian has popularised virtual studio technology, now Wales Interactive and Good Gate Media are are using it to bring Fighting Fantasy classic Deathtrap Dungeon to life