Devs can disable PS4's 'share' button

Shuhei Yoshida says devs can control next-gen PlatStation's social features
Author:
Publish date:
Social count:
0
9_yoshida.jpg

Developers who don't want the endings of their games spoiled by the PS4's social sharing feature can turn it off, says Sony Worldwide Studios president Shuhei Yoshida.

In an interview published by Japanese media outlet 4Gamer and translated by Edge, the executive said the button that enables one-click sharing of video and screenshots on the new PlayStation can be disabled.

"There will be parts of a game that the maker does not want people to be able to see," said Yoshida.

"For example, on Vita, developers can in certain scenes disable the feature that lets users take a screenshot, and (the share function) will have a similar mechanism. The creator may not want to make video of the final boss shareable, for instance."

This is somewhat similar to the approach taken by Nintendo, which allows users and moderators to hide Miiverse screenshots behind a "spoiler" tag.

Related