Innovation charms Dare judges

Winners of the 2006 Dare to be Digital awards have been announced, with a batch of games pushing forward new concepts getting the top prizes.
Publish date:

Devised to encourage game production skills amongst students, Dare to be Digital is run by the University of Abertay, Dundee.

Three main prizes of £2000 went to three titles. Artisan, a group of Abertay students, won the Most Commercial Potential prize for the DS game Metalheads, which uses magnetism as its main gameplay device.

Elsewhere, Log2n's mouse gesture-based Flux won Greatest Innovation and Creativity, while Rule of Thumb's Gal-Ex: Spatial Delivery took home Best Use of Technology.

A full listing of the winners for the student-facing awards is given below.

Richard Leinfellner, Electronic Arts’ executive producer and vice president compared the award ceremony and was chairman of the judges: "It has been great to work with Dare for the fourth year running," he commented. "I am continually impressed with the quality of talent this innovative & unique experience manages to attract. It is by far the best pre-employment proving ground for the interactive entertainment sector."

The winners in full:

  • Best International Scholar - Pradeep Dewars of Artisan
  • Best Team Leader (£500) - Gavan Acton of Log2n
  • Best Artist - Jason Su of Phaigo Interactive
  • Best Programmer - Alan McNicholas of Rule of Thumb
  • The Virtuoso Prize - Nicholas Koumentakis of Phaigo Interactive
  • Best Team Players (£500) - Rule of Thumb
  • Most Commercial Potential (£2000) - Artisan (Metalheads)
  • Greatest Innovation and Creativity (£2000) - Log2n (Flux)
  • Best Use of Technology for Product Delivery (£2000) - Rule of (Gal Ex: Spacial Delivery)
  • Best use of Screenwriting (£1000)  - Phaigo Interactive (Spaceport)