Big Ten Network to broadcast new Collegiate League of Legends competition

Riot Games and Big Ten have announced a new partnership that will see a new Collegiate League of Legends competition be broadcast on the Big Ten Network.

The competition will feature twelve teams from Big Ten schools and kicks off on January 30th. Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Maryland, Michigan, Michigan State, Minnesota, Northwestern, Ohio State, Purdue, Rutgers, and Wisconsin are the schools that plan to take part, with the league being split into east and west divisions. They will play best of three matches over the course of the season, with the top four teams in each conference making it to the LAN finals. 

Big Ten and Riot will be broadcasting the entire competition online, but the finals on March 27th will also be shown on the Big Ten TV Network. 

Every player that takes part in the competition will receive a $5,000 scholarship payment. 

About MCV Staff

Check Also

[From the industry] Confetti Partners with GGTech and Nuel ahead of opening £5M state-of-the-art esports complex

Specialist education provider, Confetti Institute of Creative Technologies, has announced a partnership with GGTech and NUEL, hosts of university esports tournaments across Europe