Blizzard announce Nexus Games Europe, an international tournament for non-HGC players that pits national teams against each other

Blizzard has announced a new Heroes of the Storm tournament, the Nexus Games Europe, a competition that will see top players from outside of the HGC fighting for triumph while competing in national European teams.

The tournament will kick off on November 14, just ten days after Blizzcon wraps up 2017’s HGC season.16 teams from across Europe will be competing for victory, with the competing teams listed below:

  • Belgium
  • France
  • Netherlands
  • Spain
  • Czech Republic
  • Germany
  • Poland
  • Sweden
  • Denmark
  • Hungary
  • Romania
  • Ukraine
  • Finland
  • Italy
  • Russia
  • United Kingdom

Team members will be chosen by Blizzard, taking into account in-game performance, number of recent matches played and their account standing. Players will then be pressed into the service of their homelands for a group phase that runs from November 14-19, before eight teams move on to the playoff phase, which will run from November 25-26 and culminate in one team achieving ultimate victory.

There’s no word on any prizes or compensation for taking part in the tournament at this stage, but you can see the rules and format information here.

About MCV Staff

Check Also

Ukie Esports Report Front Cover

[From the industry] Esports in the UK – new Ukie report looks into size and growth of sector

New report shows that the sector has grown at an average rate of 8.5% annually between 2016 and 2019