Blizzard announces the final three teams for the Overwatch league, and a start date

Blizzard has announced the start date for its Overwatch League. 

The preseason will start on December 6, meaning that Blizzard’s Overwatch League is technically starting in 2017 as they’ve been claiming. The preseason will involve a series of exhibition matches between the 12 teams in the League. However, the real season kicks off on January 10 and will continue through to june, with playoffs and finals taking place in July to crown a winner. 

Every match will be held at Blizzard’s new Burbank esports arena. 

Blizzard have also announced the three remaining teams that will be participating in Overwatch’s twelve man league: Comcast Spectator in Philadelphia, Team EnVyUs in Dallas and OpTic Gaming in Houston. 

“With the first 12 teams in place, we’re now just a few short months away from the inaugural season of the Overwatch League,” Blizzard CEO Mike Morhaime said in a statement. “This is a huge milestone for the league. We can’t wait for the action to get underway and to see some of the top competitive Overwatch players in the world facing off to become the first-ever Overwatch League champions.”

More details on the specific scheduling will come in the next few months. 

About MCV Staff

Check Also

[From the industry] Confetti Partners with GGTech and Nuel ahead of opening £5M state-of-the-art esports complex

Specialist education provider, Confetti Institute of Creative Technologies, has announced a partnership with GGTech and NUEL, hosts of university esports tournaments across Europe