Dominique ‘SonicFox’ McLean makes a dominant run to win Injustice 2 Pro Series Grand Finals, winning a $120,000 prize

Dominique ‘SonicFox’ McLean has emerged as the winner of the Injustice 2 Pro Series Grand Finals in Los Angeles, after a dominant performance saw him take home $120,000 this Sunday.

McLean triumphed in one of the biggest events ever held for a Netherealm Studios game with the final four of the 16-player competition aired on ESPN2, the first time a Netherrealm tournament was broadcast for a live television audience. His prize is one of the biggest in fighting games too, the lions share of the $200,000 pool offered in the tournament.

McLean has been incredibly strong in the second half of this season, growing into the game’s nascent competitive scene, winning every Injustice 2 Pro Series event after EVO in July. He kept this form up in the final, with the winners final being the only set that McLean didn’t take with a comfortable 3-0 victory.

His victory, over Andrew ‘Semiij’ Fontanez in both the winners’ final and the grand final, saw McLean getting revenge for his last loss, when Fontanez shut him down at EVO, relegating him to fifth place and making it the first time McLean had entered an EVO tournament and come away without winning the whole thing.

McLean is now in the number one slot for Injustice 2, and looks easily capable of taking on all comers.  Next in in the Injustice 2 scene is the ELEAGUE Injustice 2 World Championship, a $250,000 event that will see the Top 8 from this tournament tossed in with the top two finishers from the other three official Injustice 2 leagues. Rounding out the 16-person tournament will be an open qualifier on October 21, allowing the final two players to qualify.

It McLean takes the win in this tournament too, he’s going to cement his position as the best in the world at superhero punch-punch.

About MCV Staff

Check Also

Pokémon’s North America International Championships winners are headed to London

The top ranked players at the Pokémon North America International Championships have been announced