OpTic gaming forfeit slot in ELEAGUE’s CS:GO Premier after roster changes

OpTic Gaming have forfeited their Group D spot in ELEAGUE’s CS:GO Premier after adding Adam Friberg, Aleksi ‘Allu’ Jalli and Emil ‘Magisk’ Reif to their roster yesterday.

ELEAGUE’s rulebook has a rule, several in fact although only 4.4.15 is relevant here, which states that teams must retain three of their five players from the original roster that is invited. As a result, with the departure of Tarik Celik, Will ‘RUSH’ Wierzba and James ‘hazed’ Cobb the Green Wall lost their spot in the Premier.

The Premier kicks off on September 9 and will continue until October 18, with Group D containing SK Gaming, Astralis and two open qualifier teams, that will be decided on August 26-27, with an extra slot opening up to take the place of OpTic. It’s a tough group for any new qualifier to get involved with.

OpTic will continue to compete in the North American ESL Pro League, although will probably have to qualify with their new roster before they make an appearance anywhere else, after a similar ruling took them out of the Dreamhack Malmo tournament for a roster change in September.

About MCV Staff

Check Also

[From the industry] Confetti Partners with GGTech and Nuel ahead of opening £5M state-of-the-art esports complex

Specialist education provider, Confetti Institute of Creative Technologies, has announced a partnership with GGTech and NUEL, hosts of university esports tournaments across Europe