Home / Business / Geoff Keighley to host new Gamescom live event, Opening Night Live

Geoff Keighley to host new Gamescom live event, Opening Night Live

Geoff Keighley has teamed up with Gamescom for “Gamescom: Opening Night Live”.

Debuting on Monday August 19th, 2019, at 8pm CEST (7pm UK time, 2pm ET, 11am PT), the “spectacular game showcase” will be livestreamed from Cologne, Germany, as it kicks off 2019’s Gamescom, “the world’s largest event for computer and video games”.

Gamescom: Opening Night Live will be produced in English and air live in front of more than 1,000 fans in Cologne, Germany. The new program will feature “announcements from major game publishers and independent developers, world premieres of new game footage and special guest appearances from the stars of the gaming industry”.

“Gaming is a shared passion around the world, and every time I attend Gamescom I am energized by the passion and excitement from the community in Cologne,” said Geoff Keighley. “The team and I are thrilled to be in Europe this summer to produce this show and share Gamescom with the global video game audience.”

“Opening Night Live is an entirely new show designed to make gamers worldwide a bigger part of the Gamescom experience,” added Felix Falk, Managing Director of game – the German Games Industry Association. “With his experience as host and producer of ‘The Game Awards’ and his strong international network, we couldn’t think of a better partner than Geoff to help us bring this show to life. We are looking forward to a special showcase of new games and announcements.”

“In addition to more than 370,000 visitors in Cologne, Gamescom is seen around the world by millions of fans through live streams,” said Gerald Böse, president and CEO of Koelnmesse. “With this new Opening Night Live, we are continuing to create a unique platform for the games industry to present its announcements to fans both in Cologne and all around the world.”

More Information about the live event will be announced in the coming months.

About Vikki Blake

It took 15 years of civil service monotony for Vikki to crack and switch to writing about games. She has since become an experienced reporter and critic working with a number of specialist and mainstream outlets in both the UK and beyond.

Check Also

PUBG Mobile tops 400m downloads

Mobile battle royale generated $146m in revenue last month