Home / Business / Here’s how to watch this year’s Golden Joystick Awards

Here’s how to watch this year’s Golden Joystick Awards

The 36th Golden Joystick Awards will be livestreamed for those unable to make it to the capital for the event later today.

Now in its 36th year, The Golden Joystick Awards is the world’s largest and longest running public-voted gaming awards. The "event honours the people and products that have transformed the global games industry in 2018" and features 24 categories, the majority of which are voted for by the public. This year, a "record number of voters had their say, casting millions of votes".

Along with the 18 categories voted for by the public, five critics choice awards will be revealed on the day, including Lifetime Achievement, Outstanding Contribution, and the Critics Choice Award.

"I’m delighted to be returning to the much-loved Golden Joysticks for a third year, because it means I won’t have to stay at home and pay for a party to celebrate the very best in gaming on my own, which is pointless and needlessly expensive," host Danny Wallace said. "This has been a cracking year for gamers. Let’s find out who’s responsible and why…"

"There’s a great variety of games in this year’s Ultimate Game of the Year shortlist," added Daniel Dawkins, global editor-in-chief at GamesRadar+. "We’re proud to present the spectacle of games like Assassin’s Creed: Odyssey and Red Dead Redemption 2 alongside year-defining hits like Fortnite and indie successes like Dead Cells and Into The Breach.

"This year’s Golden Joystick Awards live show will be bigger and better than ever, with more exclusive interviews and video reveals, plus the chance to find out which games the public has chosen as their favourites of the year. 2018 has been an incredible year for gaming, so join us on Friday to watch all the action unfold live on stage."

The pre-show starts at 3pm GMT (7am PST / 10am EST), with the award ceremony itself scheduled to kick-off at 4pm GMT (8am PST / 11am EST). Head over to the event’s official Twitch channel to tune in.

About Vikki Blake

It took 15 years of civil service monotony for Vikki to crack and switch to writing about games. She has since become an experienced reporter and critic working with a number of specialist and mainstream outlets in both the UK and beyond.

Check Also

My.Games to launch My.Games Store by the end of the year

"The My.Games Store is the next step in bringing our expertise to a global market"