"I never thought that something like this would be possible"

Streamer Tyler "Ninja" Blevins is hosting a 12-hour Fortnite livestream from Times Square, New York, this New Year's Eve.

Announcing the news via social media over the weekend, Ninja confirmed the show would kick off at 4 pm Eastern Time (1 pm PT, 8 pm GMT) and run until 4 am local time (1 am PT, 8 am GMT).

"When I started in gaming, I never thought that something like this would be possible," Ninja said (thanks, VG24/7). "[New Year's Even] has always been fun for gamers because it’s a night where you have a widely accepted excuse to stay up and game, but there’s never been an event in the mainstream that’s actually built around that tradition. This is just my ultimate NYE Fortnite LAN party with some of my best friends and a few surprises that I hope we as a community can have a lot of fun with."

"This is going to be a NYE in Times Square like you've never seen before," Ninja added.

Ninja is Twitch's first 10-million-plus streamer, thanks in no small part to Fortnite. Hitting the 10 million milestone was "seriously ridiculous" and put gaming’s biggest name in a league all of his own, with no competitor coming anywhere close to these extraordinary numbers.

Ninja has been a mainstay of the streaming circuit for a number of years now. Of course, Fortnite is still both Ninja and Twitch’s number one, but growing titles like Realm Royale get a look in, too. Earlier this year, Ninja joined forces with Canadian rapper Drake to livestream Fortnite, and the pair's collaboration broke the all-time concurrent viewers record on Twitch, as well as bagging Ninja an extra 50,000 subscriptions.

Related