Riot bans sister teams in the EU Challenger Series

We knew that EU LCS sister teams would not be able to play in the Challenger Series promotion tournament but new rules for Summer 2017 reveal they won’t be able to play at all. 

Riot has announced that from the Summer Split sister teams to those in the EU LCS will not be able to compete in the Challenger Series. This means that organisations such as Fnatic will not be able to run teams such as Fnatic Academy. 

A spokesperson for Riot confirmed to theScore eSports that the change is not currently heading to the North American region, where multiple teams have sister sides in the Challenger Series. 

This change means that teams such as Fnatic Academy will only be able to play in regional leagues such as the ESL UK Premiership. 

About MCV Staff

Check Also

ESL One Birmingham is officially the fastest selling ESL Dota 2 Major – ever

Organiser now reworking seat plan to gain extra capacity